EEA Member States

As of 1st July 2013, The European Union (EU) is composed of 28 Member states: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.

The EEA (European Economic Area) is an extention of this, which also includes Iceland, Liechtenstein, and Norway.

It is a common misconception that Switzerland is part of the EEA. This is not the case. Switzerland does, however, have a bilateral agreement to allow free movement of persons between Switzerland and the EU/EEA. It should also be noted, that the UK’s implementation of Directive 2004/38/EC (Immigration (EEA) Regulations 2006) has classed that Switzerland falls into the definition of European Economic Area in Section 2(1):

“EEA State” means—
(a) a member State, other than the United Kingdom;
(b) Norway, Iceland or Liechtenstein; or
(c) Switzerland;

For further information on the specifics of each country, please take a look at the EU Movement – EEA Countries information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

* Copy This Password *

* Type Or Paste Password Here *

Your guidance resource to applying the 'Surinder Singh Route' to your case.